Concord-Carlisle Community Chest presents $570,000 in grant awards (2015)

Posted Jun. 16, 2015 at 4:36 PM | Wicked Local Concord

The Concord-Carlisle Community Chest awarded more than $570,000 to 28 human service agencies and programs at its annual Day of Giving Ceremony held at the Trinitarian Congregational Church last week.

Thanks to the generosity of community members and local businesses, the Chest awarded a record level of grant funding this year. Executive Director Karen Bechtel stated, “These vital programs do the work each and every day of the year to help our neighbors in need. The work they do is essential and challenging. The Chest is honored to be able to partner with them.”

Top business sponsors were also presented with special awards for longstanding financial commitment to the Community Chest: Cambridge Savings Charitable Foundation, Cambridge Trust Company, Middlesex Savings Bank and the DiGiovanni family.

In addition to the award ceremony, the Chest held its annual meeting, electing Sandy Caggiano, Jennifer Gates, Sarah Hoch and Richard Wells as new members to the board of directors for three-year terms. Retiring board members Amanda Hickman and Alyssa Bigay were elected to the board of overseers.

In memory of one of the Chest’s past board members and a generous Concord volunteer, the Maura Lawton Perkins Award was presented by Astrid Williams and Bill Perkins to Ken Yang, dedicated volunteer at the Chest.

Community Chest grant allocations team members present the award letter to Communities for Restorative Justice (C4RJ). Left to right are Jim Carter, Chest grant team member; Lauren Rosenzweig Morton, C4RJ board president; Erin Freeborn, C4RJ executive director; Bob Furey, Chest grant team and board member; and Ali Sullivan, Chest grant team member. Courtesy photo / Harley Freedman

Community Chest Grant Allocations Team Members Present The Award Letter To Communities For Restorative Justice (C4RJ). Left To Right Are Jim Carter, Chest Grant Team Member; Lauren Rosenzweig Morton, C4RJ Board President; Erin Freeborn, C4RJ Executive Director; Bob Furey, Chest Grant Team And Board Member; And Ali Sullivan, Chest Grant Team Member. Courtesy Photo / Harley Freedman